Parenting Galore

I love it when my 7 year old daughter says, “Mommy I want to be just like you when I grow up. You’re so freaky, so unlike the mommies of my friends.” I love it when me, Aqsa and Batool shout, “Secret club thumbs up/ cheers/ high five!!” Yes, we have a secret club too 😛 I think I am different (Read: weirder) from any other mother I know. I don’t know if it’s essentially good or bad, but I get to enjoy so much more with my daughters than many of my peers are able to, or let’s just say, allow themselves to. They’re so bent upon celebrating the oomph and respect that forms an unconditional part of this thing we call motherhood, that they sometimes are unable to keep up with their children.

Children these days are growing up in a very unusual manner. They’re nothing like the brainless little dweebs that we used to be, in many ways. Repression doesn’t quite work with them these days, unless of course you want them to revolt against you as soon as they hit 18! I have been criticized a great deal about the way I am raising my daughters, but my rationale is simple: They’ll toss you out of their lives anyway, at a point in time. Now it’s up to you to be placed in their good books or the often dreaded bad ones!!

And forget about the books too for a moment; I seriously don’t understand what the big deal about being a parent is. I often feel it’s too unnecessarily puffed up. I mean, we become so infatuated with being “excellent” parents that we sometimes fail to remember that the people we are dealing with here are human beings to begin with. They are blessed with a personality of their own; which we often overlook and wind up taking them as an extension of our own persona. We fail to connect to them on many levels. How iniquitous is that to another human being?

I might be wrong, I most probably am. I should strike a balance. Most bookish “excellent” parents do. But life is unfortunately not a book; we cannot just treat our kids as robots and expect them to turn into these perfect little clones of ourselves. But even if I am wrong and even if I should be a stricter/ more somber parent, I am having the time of my life with them and I do not regret it one bit. You know, it’s amazing how much you’ll learn from your kids if you just open yourself to this otherwise absurd idea. Try it! 🙂
Photo Credits: Times of MaltaWIREDPhoto Bucket
Leave a Reply

